Tough Love


I’ve been enamored with the gently haunting sounds of Tindersticks ever since I discovered them a couple of years ago. I totally blindsided to find out that this band has existed since the 90’s. How could something that fits so seamlessly into the scheme of all the things I like exist for so long without me knowing about it? It’s almost as if the world is full of unmined treasures. The internet can be blamed for a lot of society’s blights, but sometimes it delivers things that feel like they help complete your life. ‘Needful things’ as Stephen King wrote in a parable that predates the internet. In King’s writing, needful things are an evil, and the man who provides them might just be the devil. That’s not a bad analogy for our relationship with the algorithms that run our lives.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.