Day: May 10, 2014

Light My Fire

I’ve been looking forward to this one for quite some time. I was going to go into one of my breathless rants about how much I love Jim Morrison. Because that’s not a point I ever get tired of making. But I’m going to throw in a little something fun too, because last night I happened to remember about Jimmy Fallon and his eerily spot-on musical homages. His parody of The Doors is extremely, extremely convincing, and not really even a parody. It’s funny alright, but it’s not a parody in the sense that it makes The Doors look ridiculous or in need of a takedown. What it does is bring out the innate Doorsiness that we didn’t know the Reading Rainbow song was possessed of all along. Jim Morrison wasn’t exactly known for having a great sense of humor about himself, but I like to imagine that he would dig this. He was a big champion of literacy, and it’s not much of a stretch to imagine him eventually, if he had lived long enough, coming up with a song about children’s books.