The Nurse


Never having seen the White Stripes is one of the biggest things in life I’ve missed out on. They came, went, and ended all before I had the resources to pursue seeing music. But at least I’ve had the privilege of witnessing the developing phenomenon of Jack White in real time. I think he’s without a doubt the most important figure to emerge within my lifetime, and I’ve met plenty of people who speak of him in even more trembling terms. I’m ready to love anyone who wants to just be weird for the sake of it, and few people get as weird as Jack. The more experimental, the better. The mighty marimba, for example, is sorely underused in popular music. Incorporating the unexpected into their vision so seamlessly was one of the best things about The White Stripes; in their singular world, obsolete equipment and odd instruments were like lost toys rediscovered. Each album was like a musical thrift store of forgotten treasures.

Leave a Reply

