Mis-Shapes


I missed out on 90’s Britpop. If I had been a little bit older and a little bit less isolated, I most likely would have been a Pulp fan right then and there. But on account of being a child, and in the wilds of nowhere at that, I had only the vaguest awareness that there was such a thing as Britpop, or that any part of it could be worthwhile. Cool Britannia wasn’t exactly overrunning the rural Appalachian hill-slums in 1995. So that’s my excuse for never having listened to Pulp until a few months ago. Because of course it’s surprising given my taste for British people, skinny suits and misanthropy. But better late than never…

Leave a Reply

