Manchester


“Answer my weary query, Timothy Leary”

Everything about this song is hilarious. That’s the thing I love about the Hair musical, how funny it is. The wordplay and references are witty and great. Obviously it’s almost obligatory for a counterculture anthem to name-drop Timothy Leary, but I love that they also snuck a Polish joke in there. And of course, Manchester England England is a always a great reference point, not least because it’s one of the worst places on earth (according to some people.)

On a programming note: Happy New Year, obviously, hope it’s a great one blah blah blah. I am working on my seasonal best-of. Rest assured I’m researching it very thoroughly and should have it together within a week, hopefully. Last year I promised a two-parter and never came through. I’m still toying around with the idea of doing a separate list for songs of the year, but we’ll see if I actually go through with it. I might just be too lazy. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

