Letter To Hermione


Not much is known about Hermione Farthingale, but David Bowie wrote more songs in her honor than he did for his first wife. How many songs one writes for someone is not the most accurate thing to measure the quality of a relationship by; some people aren’t given to writing songs about personal specific things at all, while others will vomit out a song about each and every experience they’ve ever had. David Bowie falls somewhere in the middle. His songs are predominantly cryptic, but there are also many that are very clearly personal. This one, obviously, because it’s got her name right in the title.  And the fact remains that this Farthingale girl, whoever she was and wherever she may be, inspired some of his most heart-0n-sleeve love songs. First spouse Angela, however, hasn’t merited any confirmed poetic odes. Maybe because she dismissed the Hermione songs as mushy and pathetic? Maybe because she was, by many accounts, kind of an awful person. I think Bowie wrote more songs about Marc Bolan than he did her.

The hand that wrote this letter
Sweeps the pillow clean
So rest your head and read a treasured dream
I care for no one else but you
I tear my soul to cease the pain
I think maybe you feel the same
What can we do?
I’m not quite sure what we’re supposed to do
So I’ve been writing just for you

They say your life is going very well
They say you sparkle like a different girl
But something tells me that you hide
When all the world is warm and tired

You cry a little in the dark
Well so do I
I’m not quite sure what you’re supposed to say
But I can see it’s not okay

He makes you laugh
He brings you out in style
He treats you well
And makes you up real fine
And when he’s strong
He’s strong for you
And when you kiss
It’s something new
But did you ever call my name
Just by mistake?
I’m not quite sure what I’m supposed to do
So I’ll just write some love to you

Leave a Reply

